Sherrerd funds new building at intersection of engineering and social science

A major donation to the University by the late John J.F. Sherrerd, a 1952 alumnus and longtime Princeton supporter, has funded construction of a building for emerging fields of study at the intersection of engineering and the social sciences.

Andrew Persily *82 to serve another term as ASHRAE vice president

Andrew Persily will serve a second term as vice president of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE).

Charles F. Kalmbach, Jr. '68 *72 appointed to Lincoln Educational Services Corporation board of directors

Charles Kalmbach was appointed in August to the board of directors of Lincoln Educational Services Corporation, a leading and diversified for-profit provider of career-oriented post-secondary education.

Edward Wolynic *74 joins Nanostellar's board of directors

Edward Wolynic, who received a Ph.D. in chemical engineering from Princeton in 1974, was recently appointed to the board of directors of Nanostellar Inc., a company that develops clean technology applications.

Dimitrios C. Kyritsis *98 receives Rose Award for Teaching Excellence

Dimitrios Kyritsis's teaching practices have earned him the 2008 Rose Award for Teaching Excellence from the College of Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Freshman orientation points Class of 2012 in the right direction

Princeton's largest class of incoming engineering students kicked off their undergraduate educations and the 2008 school year Monday, Sept. 8, at freshman orientation.

Cynthia Dwork '79 elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Cynthia Dwork '79 was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

John Hudson *60 elected to the National Academy of Engineering

John Hudson *60, the Wills Johnson Professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Virginia, was elected to the National Academy of Engineering.

Cato Laurencin '80 named dean of University of Connecticut School of Medicine

Cato Laurencin '80 will become dean of the medical school at the University of Connecticut and vice president for health affairs at the university's Health Center, effective Aug. 11.

David M. Robinson '79 appointed as CEO of Endicott Biofuels

David M. Robinson will head up Endicott Biofuels, a Houston, Texas-based company founded in 2006 that specializes in the development of alternative energy sources such as biodiesel.