Faculty, grad students recognized for outstanding teaching

Princeton Engineering and Dean H. Vincent Poor are proud to recognize the following professors and graduate students for their outstanding teaching during the Spring 2008 semester.

Billington receives Distinguished Award of Merit for engineering achievements

David Billington, a Princeton professor of civil and environmental engineering, has received the 2008 Distinguished Award of Merit from the American Council of Engineering Companies.

Board approves three new engineering professors

The Princeton Board of Trustees has named three new professors to the School of Engineering and Applied Science: Howard A. Stone, Sigrid Adriaenssens and Branko Glisic.

Supercomputer draws David Keyes '78 to new Saudi Arabian university

David Keyes has joined the King Abdullah University of Science and Technology in Saudi Arabia as division chair of mathematical and computer sciences and engineering. Keyes was formerly professor of applied physics and math at Columbia University.

Memoirs of a qubit: Hybrid memory solves key problem for quantum computing

An international team of scientists has performed the ultimate miniaturization of computer memory: storing information inside the nucleus of an atom. This breakthrough is a key step in bringing to life a quantum computer - a device based on the fundamental theory of quantum mechanics which could crack problems unsolvable by current technology.

John H. Brown '67 named regional president of Bausch and Lomb

This past August, John H. Brown became president of Bausch and Lomb's regional business operations in Europe, the Middle East and Africa, and its corporate vice president.

Sherilyn McCoy *82 named chair of Johnson & Johnson pharmaceuticals division

Sherilyn McCoy has been named the world-wide chairman of Johnson & Johnson's pharmaceutical division, the largest of the company's three units.

Princeton professor Jennifer Rexford '91 joins AlterPoint's technical advisory board

Jennifer Rexford, a Princeton alumna and professor of computer science, has joined the technical advisory board at AlterPoint, a company that develops advanced network governance solutions.

Florence Hudson '80 receives Society of Women Engineers' Upward Mobility Award

Florence Hudson '80 has received the 2008 Society of Women Engineers' Upward Mobility Award, which is given for exemplary business and technical leadership and serving as an outstanding mentor and model for women.

Jason Cummings *07 wins AISES Professional of the Year Award

Jason Cummings *07 has received the 2008 Professional of the Year award from the American Indian Science and Engineering Society.