Freshman orientation points Class of 2012 in the right direction

Princeton's largest class of incoming engineering students kicked off their undergraduate educations and the 2008 school year Monday, Sept. 8, at freshman orientation.

Thomas Edgar *71 elected a fellow of International Federation of Automatic Control

Thomas Edgar *71 was elected a fellow of the International Federation of Automatic Control.

Christos Papadimitriou *76 wins Katayanagi Prize in Computer Science

Christos Papadimitriou *76 won the Katayanagi Prize in Computer Science for Research Excellence for his work on the theory of algorithms and complexity and their applications to optimization, databases, game theory, economics and the Internet.

Robert Briskman '54 receives award for founding Sirius radio

Robert Briskman '54 received the Technology Business Leadership Award from the A. James Clark Engineering School at the University of Maryland for his role in founding Sirius Satellite Radio.

Lawrence Leighton '56 appointed to China Natural Gas Board of Directors

Lawrence Leighton was named in August to join the board of directors of China Natural Gas, a leading provider of compressed natural gas for industrial and residential use in China.

Marsha Anderson Bomar *78 receives transportation engineering award

Marsha Anderson Bomar *78 received the Herman J. Hoose Distinguished Service Award from the Institute of Transportation Engineers – Southern District in recognition of her leadership and contributions to transportation engineering.

David Keyes '78 receives Sidney Fernbach Award

David Keyes '78 received the prestigious Sidney Fernbach Award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Computer Society.

Cynthia Dwork '79 elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Cynthia Dwork '79 was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

John Hudson *60 elected to the National Academy of Engineering

John Hudson *60, the Wills Johnson Professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Virginia, was elected to the National Academy of Engineering.

Cato Laurencin '80 named dean of University of Connecticut School of Medicine

Cato Laurencin '80 will become dean of the medical school at the University of Connecticut and vice president for health affairs at the university's Health Center, effective Aug. 11.