Norman Augustine ’57 *59 received the 2008 Vannever Bush Award from the National Science Foundation. The award recognized Augustine’s “distinguished public leadership in science, engineering and technology; for his longstanding commitment to the ethical conduct of business and the engineering profession; and for his extraordinary contributions to the welfare of the nation through his advocacy of science, technology and engineering education as national priorities.”

Marsha Anderson Bomar *78 received the Herman J. Hoose Distinguished Service Award from the Institute of Transportation Engineers-Southern District in recognition of her leadership and contributions to transportation engineering. She is the president and owner of Street Smarts, Inc., a planning, design and engineering consulting firm, and member of the Duluth, Ga., city council.

Robert Briskman ’54 received the Technology Business Leadership Award from the A. James Clark Engineering School at the University of Maryland for his role in founding Sirius Satellite Radio. Cynthia Dwork ’79 was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Dwork is a principal researcher at Microsoft Research in Mountain View, Calif.

Thomas Edgar *71 was elected a fellow of the International Federation of Automatic Control for his leadership and contributions to mathematical modeling, optimization, and automatic control of chemical and microelectronics processes. He holds the George T. and Gladys H. Abell Endowed Chair of Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin in the chemical engineering department.

John Hudson *60, the Wills Johnson Professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Virginia, was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in recognition of his outstanding advances in the understanding and engineering of complex dynamic chemical-reaction systems.

Robert Kahn *64 and Vinton Cerf were honored as joint recipients of the 2008 Japan Prize in Information Communication Theory and Technology for creating the basic network concept that developed into the current network architecture and communication protocol for the Internet. Kahn is now chairman and chief executive of the Corporation for National Research Initiatives.

David Keyes ’78 received the prestigious Sidney Fernbach Award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Computer Society. The award recognized Keyes for his “outstanding contributions to the development of scalable numerical algorithms for the solutions of nonlinear partial differential equations (PDEs) and for exceptional leadership in high-performance computation.”

Christos Papadimitriou *76 won the Katayanagi Prize in Computer Science for Research Excellence for his work on the theory of algorithms and complexity and their applications to optimization, databases, game theory, economics and the Internet. He is the C. Lester Hogan Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of California- Berkeley.

Hsing-Huang Tseng *83 was elected a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) in recognition of his contributions to CMOS ultra-thin gate stack technology. He is currently chief technologist of the Front End Processes Division at SEMATECH.

Related Departments

  • Professor and student work together in lab setting.

    Chemical and Biological Engineering

  • Computer Science

    Computer Science

  • Professor writes on white board while talking with grad student.

    Electrical and Computer Engineering