Two Princeton Engineering faculty members were elected to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors in all fields of science. The academy announced April 29 that Howard Stone, the Donald R. Dixon ’69 and Elizabeth W. Dixon Professor in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and department chair, and Sergio Verd√∫, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Electrical Engineering, were among 84 new members elected to the academy for 2014.

Founded by Congress in 1863, the Academy of Sciences is made of members elected by their peers based on outstanding contributions to scientific research.

Stone’s research has explored fundamental problems in fluid motion and evaluated a wide range of affects including surface tension, buoyancy, fluid rotation, and surfactants. His work combines theory, modeling, computer simulation and experimentation to examine flow phenomena. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2009 and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2011.

Verd√∫, an expert in information theory, examines the fundamental limits of information transmission and compression. Among many other areas, his work has contributed to multi-user detection, which is used in communications to distinguish a signal from background interference. Among many honors, he won the Claude Shannon award for information theory and was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2007.


  • Howard Stone

Related Departments

  • Professor writes on white board while talking with grad student.

    Electrical and Computer Engineering

  • Student uses drill press while others observe.

    Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering