Subhash Khot, who earned a Ph.D. from Princeton’s Department of Computer Science in 2003, has won the Rolf Nevanlinna Prize, awarded every four years for outstanding contributions in mathematical aspects of information sciences.

With the award to Khot, the department now has close ties to three of the nine winners of the Nevanlinna prize since the award was established in 1982 by the International Mathematical Union, which promotes global cooperation in mathematics.

Khot’s award recognized his work on the Unique Games Conjecture, which the mathematical union said “will be driving research in theoretical computer science for many years to come.”

“We knew for 40 years that some problems are hard to solve exactly,” said Andrew Appel, department chair. “Khot shows how many more problems are hard to get even an approximate answer for.”

Khot, 36 years old, is a theoretical computer scientist in New York University’s Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences. In 2010, the National Science Foundation selected him to receive the Alan T. Waterman Award, a prestigious grant of $500,000 over three years that supports an outstanding researcher under the age of 36.

The computer science department’s other winners of the Nevanlinna Prize are Robert Tarjan, the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Computer Science, and alumnus Avi Wigderson.

Tarjan, who received the first Nevanlinna Prize, is currently the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Computer Science. Wigderson, the 1994 winner, earned his Ph.D. in 1983 and is a math professor at the Institute for Advanced Study, where he organizes activities in computer science and discrete mathematics.

Related Department

  • Computer Science

    Computer Science